Christian Geek Central Forums

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

The Online Community Of Christian Geek Central

4 posters

Gay Pride Month 2014 - Army

rossmcclure4

Activity : 78
    Geek-Cred : 1

Gay Pride Month 2014 - Army Empty Gay Pride Month 2014 - Army

Post  rossmcclure4 May 28th 2014, 1:36 am

All,

I've been faced with a very difficult situation and I'm not sure what to do. I'm an executive officer for an army aviation unit in Egypt. As you probably know, DADT (Don't Ask, Don't Tell) was overturned a couple of years ago for the US Armed forces. I was actually a pretty big fan of that decision, because in the past you could receive a separation chapter if enough evidence could be presented that you were homosexual. Now people can do whatever they want, and under Army Command policy no one can flaunt or distract others from work whether it be matters of religion or sexuality be it homosexuality or otherwise. It seems fair and common sense.

Last year President Obama and Secretary Hagel approved the celebration of Gay Pride month by the US Military...but no one really participated. For a better showing, this year they have made it an official EO (Equal Opportunity) annual observance which is mandatory. When I first received the order to plan and prepare for the event, I was still not concerned and even amused and interested. I support Soldiers having different opinions and viewpoints celebrating and participating in things that perhaps I don't agree with, and even was happy to facilitate the event.