Christian Geek Central Forums

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

The Online Community Of Christian Geek Central

4 posters

What Are You Thankful To God For?

Paeter
    Paeter
    Admin

Activity : 8030
    Geek-Cred : 60

What Are You Thankful To God For? Empty What Are You Thankful To God For?

Post  Paeter November 14th 2017, 9:50 am

We've done this before on the forums around this time of year, but I thought it would be worth doing again and maybe adding a little focus and context to it.

I don't know if it's related to my introversion or not, but I can tend to be negative in my introspection, which translates to a persistent lack of gratitude. I spend time focusing on the negatives in my life and it really takes purposeful effort to stop and "count my blessings". Even when I try to express my thankfulness to God, it all too quickly turns into requests. (Nothing wrong with that in itself, but I'm not very good at really dwelling in thankfulness for any length of time.)

On top of that, even when I try to "be thankful", I easily forget that thankfulness, logically speaking, requires a subject, a person, to whom I am thankful. Americans tend to be "thankful" to no one and nothing (inserting "lucky stars" or "the gods" as a vague object of thanks), which means our "thankfulness" is really just us being "glad" or "relieved" to have something.

So how about we share what we are thankful for here in a sort of "public prayer format", starting our expressions of thankfulness by directing them to God? (Thank you God, for... Thank you Jesus, for... etc) Chime in whenever you're ready and maybe I'll share some of them on the podcast next week!