Christian Geek Central Forums

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

The Online Community Of Christian Geek Central

2 posters

How do we know what is good? (A discussion with my friend)

AGoodReed
    AGoodReed

Activity : 835
    Geek-Cred : 4

How do we know what is good? (A discussion with my friend) Empty How do we know what is good? (A discussion with my friend)

Post  AGoodReed February 6th 2021, 1:57 pm

Okay, boys and girls, it's apologetics time. I'm still in dialogue with my old friend on Facebook, and we got into something worthy of a new thread.

As a recap, this friend was in my youth group as a kid but left the faith while pursuing higher education. He's a philosophy major, a Rhodes Scholar, and studied abroad at either Cambridge or Oxford (forget which). Meanwhile, I have an English degree and can't even keep grammar straight.

But apologetics isn't about knowing every answer, it's about knowing why you believe what you believe. Or something like that.

I think the moral argument is one of the best arguments for why there must be something beyond us. I think it's a good entry point to get to the truths of Christ, which are the best arguments for the Christian God being that something.

Thus, I posed this question to my friend:

"So, you don't come across to me as a relativist. You're against racism, authoritarianism, and dishonesty. In your worldview, how do you determine what is good and what is bad?"

He gave a pretty long response.