Christian Geek Central Forums

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

The Online Community Of Christian Geek Central

2 posters

What do we do with false prophets?

AGoodReed
    AGoodReed

Activity : 834
    Geek-Cred : 4

What do we do with false prophets? Empty What do we do with false prophets?

Post  AGoodReed January 21st 2021, 12:55 pm

When I started studying the Bible in high school, I remember feeling like I understood the concept of the false prophet pretty well. God says in Deuteronomy 18:20-22, "But the prophet who presumes to speak a word in my name that I have not commanded him to speak, or who speaks in the name of other gods, that same prophet shall die. [Some translations say, "must die."] And if you say in your heart, ‘How may we know the word that the Lord has not spoken?’— when a prophet speaks in the name of the Lord, if the word does not come to pass or come true, that is a word that the Lord has not spoken; the prophet has spoken it presumptuously. You need not be afraid of him."

Now, I certainly didn't think that we were still supposed to put false prophets to death in our modern times. But I was under the impression that, if someone were to either A) say that God gave him a prophecy and then that prophecy didn't come to pass, or B) make a prophecy that did come to pass in the name of someone other than God, then we should ignore that person and warn others against following him or her. If that person claimed to be a Christian but falsely prophesied, then we who are in Christ were to treat that person as an unbeliever and avoid his or her teachings.

Now that Joe Biden has officially been inaugurated as President of the United States, several people who have publicly claimed that God specifically told them that Donald Trump would serve a second consecutive term as President have been proven false. Either they were lying or they were mistaken.